31 Electric Locomotive Engine Parts used in Railway

railway electrification


In earlier electric and diesel locomotives article, we have studied the basic concept of both locomotives and comparisons between those two locomotives.

In this article, I am listing the main and important parts of an electric locomotive or engine.

Electric Locomotive Engine Parts | Electrical Equipments

As considering power sources, switchgear, power transmission, and storing devices, there are different types of electrical equipment inbuilt inside the electric train.

  1. Pantograph
  2. Transformer
  3. Compressor
  4. Line Breaker
  5. Circuit breaker
  6. Contactor
  7. Electromechnical relay
    (Bucholz relay, Earth fault relay, Notching relay, No-Volt relay, Ground relay, Overload relay, Wheelspin relay, and other types.)
  8. Insulator
  9. Shoegear
  10. Tap changer
  11. Battery
  12. Rectifier
  13. Inverter
  14. Converter (DC to DC)
  15. DC Link
  16. Grid
  17. Cooling fan
  18. Traction (AC or DC) motor
  19. Motor blower
  20. Camshaft 
  21. Creep control
  22. Chopper control
  23. Master controller
  24. Coupler
  25. Thyristor
  26. Transistor
  27. Gate turn off (GTO) thyristor 
  28. Insulated-gate bipolar transistor (IGBT)
  29. Axle brush
  30. Trolley pole
  31. Bumpers

All the above parts of the electric engine or train are widely used in India. Each electronic device has specific features, functions, working roles, and uses.

So, in an upcoming article, I will try to describe each part of the railway engine with their specifications.

Any queries? Write me in the comment.

Read more related articles:

Thanks for Reading!

Test your knowledge and practice online quiz for FREE!

Practice Now »


Leave a Comment